Attracting Abundance

WoW poster 5

Each person carries a certain dominant energy. And almost like a permanent perfume, they carry this, so to speak, “innate nature” in everything they do. There are some people, who will only call/email or message when they want something. You can see their name in your inbox and you know, for sure, they need a favour. Something. And then there are those people, you see their name calling on your phone, and something within blossoms. You know these are the people who are only getting in touch for something good – either to share an opportunity, an idea, some good news. I am beginning to realize both taking and giving are habits – and once you develop a dominant mindset for one, it is difficult to go the other way.

A needy person, will be needy in most if not all relationships. A loving person will bring love into almost everything they do. An agitated person, will carry that work related agitation even to home. A peaceful person will remain more or less peaceful in whatever he/she does. Although a generalization is not possible, and we all are a little this and a little that – it is safe to say there are certain dominant general traits we exhibit that starts becoming our nature. I was just mulling over these thoughts when my facebook messenger beeped. I sighed as I saw the name. I knew she only messaged me when she wanted something and needless to say things were no different then. She wanted me to recommend her for something to a mutual friend. As I started typing a reply I realized something. All the people who struggle with scarcity – the ones who are somehow always missed for the golden opportunities are the ones who keep asking, and asking. Unknowingly, they are always at the receivers end.

I stopped doing what I was to understand the thoughts flowing better. I realized that rich people – be it rich in health, wealth, happiness, love – were always people who kept giving. A single line by my guru flashed within and I knew, I had understood one of the simplest but most profound secrets of life: YOU ARE RICH BY WHAT YOU GIVE. YOU ARE POOR BY WHAT YOU RECEIVE.

As I looked within my own family I saw the examples so clear, so vivid – almost like diagrams upon a white board: An aunt who loves to celebrate every little moment of life, whose predominant mindset was always to give – seemed to be living the most abundant life ever. She seemed to always be brimming with all the great things in life. Another aunt, the sister of this one, was always struggling. Either with finances, or illness, or in a relationship. As I thought deeply I realized that although both of them were wonderful people, both of them had the same set of parents, and upbringing – the difference in their lives was because the second aunt always thought like a receiver and the first one always thought like the giver.

Giving makes one feel rich, abundant. Receiving makes one feel poor, scarcity. The more and more dominant one of the traits becomes in you, the more of that you start attracting in life. Don’t all the self-help books say it? Feel rich to become rich. And it was now that I realized that the only way to feel rich, was to behave rich – which means you believe you have enough, and more, of it and therefore want to share it wherever you go.

I then reflected upon myself. I realized that with each passing day, I was learning to become a little more giving. It wasn’t effortless. Far from it. And yet, my heart, my mind was opening a little each day and I could see the direct impact of it upon my life. Each time we become a giver – in the smallest, or biggest aspect of our life – we start deepening the abundant mindset. Wishing you abundant times ahead!

Leave a comment