Let’s Talk?

Lets talk 1

Let’s Talk

The moonlit bench in the garden invites us. Let’s sit a while. Let’s talk. About years gone by. About memories created. Learnings that happened. Bridges crossed. Let’s talk.

About the pink skirt that you bought for me, along with the funny hat that still lies in the cupboard. Let’s talk.

About the dreams we held in our eyes and the reality that almost matched up, let’s talk.

About the future. Your goals. And mine. Let’s talk.

Is it not possible to move away from the gadgets and gizmos?

Is it not possible to shut the harsh blue light of television and laptop?

Is it not possible for – me as me – you as you – to meet and just talk?

Why must we keep looking at the phone?

What are we waiting for? What message, what email, what input, what news?

What are we looking for – look at me, I am right here.

Why must the dinner be interrupted with the business calls?

Why must every breakfast be so hurried that it looks like a tornado moving through some food?

I am right here. Look at me. See me for who I am. Remember me for who I was. Talk to me.

We are running through life – as though on a treadmill. No matter how much I run, I reach nowhere. No matter how fast you run, you reach nowhere. Why are we running?

Life was never supposed to be like this. We need to pause. We need to think. We need to do some star gazing. We need to have a cup of tea looking into each other’s eyes and not the phone. We need to catch up with friends – and not just business partners. We need to laugh – just like that.

Hold my hand.

Feel the warmth.

Watch my curls blow in the wind.

Observe my eyes, they speak more than my lips.

Switch off your phone.

Let’s talk.

#ItsaWoWlife

2 thoughts on “Let’s Talk?

  1. I have blocked you on Facebook. Reason may be obvious. Are you on top of the world and your subscribers stable by now?

    Like

Leave a comment